Photo21 Photography Auction x The AIDS Monument x Project Angel Food

In December, Milk hosted PHOTO21’s photography event and live auction to benefit STORIES: The AIDS Monument & Project Angel Food.  

it was a pleasant surprise to be awarded the Photo21 Photographer of the Year Award and recognized by such industry heavyweights.  I was not expecting this honor, and it served as a really special way to wrap up 2021.  As I looked at the beautiful prints by legends like Herb Ritts and Robert Mapplethorpe, it really felt like all of the years of hard work were paying off to see my print of Nelson Mandela sharing the same space on the pristine gallery walls.  

After a chaotic year, it was heartwarming to reunite with my photography community again.  

I originally photographed Nelson Mandela for the Black AIDS institute, so I found it in alignment for the print proceeds to go to The AIDS Monument and Project Angel Food.

Thank you Shaun Murdock, Milk, and Paris Chong for for being such great supporters of my career. 🙏🏽 

Happy to know this photograph will be in good hands with Paul. 

Leave a comment